Trip Lee has been building some hype this past week with the release of his single “Too Cold” and now he reveals the rest of the mixtape details. The Waiting Room is set to release on December 9, 2016 and it is currently available for pre-order at

Official Tracklist:

  1. Clouds
  2. Too Cold
  3. Lord Have Mercy
  4. IDK
  5. Ready ft. Dimitri McDowell 
  6. Still Unashamed ft. Tedashii
  7. Money Up
  8. Out My Way
  9. Longer ft. India Shawn
  10. Billion Years ft. Taylor Hill 

Reach Records leaves the following description regarding the project: 

Two years removed from his 5th album Rise, which debuted at #2 on the Billboard Rap chart and #16 on the Billboard 200, Trip sounds more focused than ever. “It’s time,” he says.

His new mixtape The Waiting Room is an exercise in power and precision. Though its title speaks to things like patience and contentment—all which are good and true and examined here with a biblical lens—the urgency is also deeply felt. “This earth is a place where all of our longings just won’t come true,” Trip says. “We’re always waiting for things to be made right.”

Throughout the 10 songs that make up The Waiting Room, Trip wrestles with joy and pain, life and death, and the realities of our current social and political climate. Since Rise, violence, injustice, and heightened levels of civil unrest have captivated our national consciousness. The example of the church, Trip argues, is needed now more than ever before. “We have to step up and meet people where they are. That’s how you create change.”

The Waiting Room is Trip at his most self-actualized. It probes and prods; it’s fun; there is measured tension. It’s an artist operating at the height of his gift. Start to finish, the project has a soulful air—moody synths and chords and interesting key changes—that match Trip’s intensity and crisp delivery. His skill as an MC shines bright as ever, and once again proves his standing as one of the best doing it today. “It’s been awhile since I put some new music out,” Trip says. “This one is special and will hold people over until the next album. Rawness, real emotion, and a fresh perspective. Here’s The Waiting Room.”

Are you looking forward to this project?

One Response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.